2021 Technician Awards

Home Knowledge Base 2021 Technician Awards

Latest Posts

TxDOT Letting Report 2024 May

Mental Health Awareness

Work Zone Awareness

TxDOT Letting Report 2024 April

Ensuring Ladder Safety

The Quality Control/Quality Assurance Technician Awards is a joint effort of the Texas Department of Transportation and the HMAC Training & Certification facility. The program honors technicians from any level of hot mix certification (1A, 1B, and Level 2) and technicians from any level of soils and flexible bases certification (101, 102, 103, 201, and 202) who consistently excellence achieve excellence in performing their assigned duties.

2021 Level 1A Technician Of The Year – Cliff Ray

2021 Level 1B Technician Of The Year – Steven Rosell

2021 Level 2 Technician Of The Year – Karl Snow

2021 SB Technician Of The Year – Johnny Lozano


The HMAC Steering Committee selects the winner from nominations submitted by both TXAPA members and TxDOT districts. Committee members include Tommy Smith, Miles Garrison, Ryan Barborak, all with TxDOT, and from industry, Corey Schwarz (HMAC), Richard Izzo (TXAPA Consultant), Cathey Galbreath (AECOM), Mike Brown (Texas Materials Group), Harry Bush (Vulcan Materials), Jerry Lee (Zack Burkett Company), and Brad Bradford (R.K. Hall Construction).