Hall of Fame 2023

Home Knowledge Base Hall of Fame 2023

Latest Posts

Statewide Special Provision SP 001-001

TxDOT Letting Report 2024 July

Firework Safety

SS 3007 Bonding Course

SS 3006 Underseal Course


Texas Asphalt Pavement Association Establishes Texas Asphalt Pavement Hall of Fame, Inducts Inaugural Class of 2023 at Annual Meeting

The Texas Asphalt Pavement Association (TXAPA) recently unveiled the Texas Asphalt Pavement Hall of Fame to honor those who have made considerable and lasting contributions to the Texas Asphalt Pavement Industry. Hall of Fame members’ noteworthy career achievements are matched only by their integrity and selflessness demonstrated for the betterment of their colleagues and industry. TXAPA Executive Vice President Harold Mullen presided over the inaugural induction ceremony on Wednesday, September 20, 2023, at the Association’s annual meeting at La Cantera Resort & Spa in San Antonio, Texas. The honorees, all TXAPA Past Presidents, have dedicated their significant talents and time to the industry over decades of service.

Texas Asphalt Pavement Hall of Fame Class of 2023

Gene Carrier III began his career with East Texas Asphalt Co., Ltd. (now Texas Materials Group, Inc.) in 1979 and serves as Executive Vice President. Carrier’s 1996 presidency was a turning point in the Association’s history. His vision saw TXAPA acquire land in Buda, TX, and eventually establish a 10-acre campus with two buildings, one of which bears his name.

Chuck Fuller is known as TXAPA’s “Ambassador of Quality.” Over his 40-plus-year career, Fuller has built countless award-winning projects and risen to the upper echelons of management. As TXAPA’s industry relations consultant, he educates, encourages, and spreads the gospel of quality asphalt pavement. Fuller leads the Association’s Partners in Quality program, facilitating communication between contactors and TxDOT in every district in Texas.

John Miller is an industry trailblazer whose family businesses, Big Creek Construction and BCI Materials, instilled a sense of responsibility and led him to tackle leadership roles with the AGC of Texas and TXAPA. He is a two-time TXAPA president credited with recognizing the need to partner with TxDOT and spearheading the initiative to create the Hot Mix Asphalt Center, now known as the HMAC. 

Murray Ricks is the grandson of Walker M. Jagoe, who founded Jagoe Public Company in 1921. A lifelong asphalt man, Ricks grew up in the business and is a two-time TXAPA president. He was instrumental in producing the Association’s first Strategic Planning Session, inviting board members to meet to analyze strengths and weaknesses and determine TXAPA’s services and direction.

Selection Criteria

Nominees will have been active in the Texas Asphalt Pavement Association (TXAPA) or associated with TXAPA and the asphalt pavement industry by advancing and growing the asphalt pavement industry and the mission of TXAPA.

Individuals from partnering agencies, including public works agencies at the federal, state, and local levels, educators and researchers from educational/trade institutions, and consulting firms are also eligible.

The principal criteria for all nominees are that their contributions must have been significant in Texas. Posthumous nominations may also be made for deceased individuals from any of the above capacities and can be nominated any time after their decease.

About the Texas Asphalt Pavement Association

The Texas Asphalt Pavement Association is the only association fully dedicated to the Asphalt Pavement Industry in Texas. It serves the needs of asphalt producers, contractors, liquid asphalt suppliers, and interested firms to support the production and placement of quality asphalt pavement. The Association is committed to providing a competitive edge to its member firms through educational services and technical information.